For revolutionary feminism,
racial justice, and working-class power.

Join Us →

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Nicaragua: The revolution betrayed

July 30 @ 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm PDT

Nicaragua: The revolution betrayed
A Freedom Socialist Community Discussion

Over four decades ago, the 1979 Sandinista Revolution ousted the hated Somoza regime, challenged U.S. imperialism and inspired workers and the oppressed around the globe. Today, the Sandinista National Liberation Front, in power for 20 years, has become its opposite, imprisoning former militants and outspoken critics, leaving freedom and hopes for socialism in the dust.

This conversation will explore how this betrayal occurred and focus on the lessons for today, especially for women, students, and indigenous people in our hemisphere.

Featuring:
Stephen Durham, Co-author of “On the nature of the Nicaraguan State” and coordinator of Freedom Socialist Party’s work with the Committee for Revolutionary International Regroupment

Saturday, July 30
4pm Pacific/ 6pm Central/ 7pm Eastern

Online – Register in advance: tinyurl.com/FSJuly30

To benefit the $100,000 Freedom Socialist Fund Drive; donations requested

Sponsored by Freedom Socialist Party
For more information, visit socialism.com, call 206-722-2453, or email SeattleFSP@socialism.com

Details

Date:
July 30
Time:
4:00 pm - 6:00 pm PDT
Event Categories:
, , , , ,

Venue

Online
United States
A revolutionary future is possible.
Help us build it.
Join FSP